top of page

Len Faki Releases ‘Don’t Be Stupid Day’ Video And Thrilling Fusion 01/03 EP

German techno figurehead Len Faki offers an exciting taste of things to come with Fusion 01/03, an EP introducing his extended debut album Fusion, due later this year on his label imprint Figure.

Fusion 01/03 is the first in a series of special EPs that give a glimpse into the eclectic body of work the label head has put together over the course of the last two years. Using the double album format, the Fusion project sees Faki explore the whole breadth of electronic club culture, inspired by decades worth of his own experiences as a DJ and clubgoer.

Coinciding with EP release day, the ​video for ‘Don’t Be Stupid Day’ also drops on 3rd February. The kaleidoscopic video directed by Marius Jopen features illustrations of endless dystopian newspapers with outlandish headlines and satirical backdrops. The resulting visual is a sensory overload that offers a daring and absurd take on the state of the world.

The four tracks on Fusion 01/03 tease the exhilarating range of sounds to be found on Faki’s forthcoming double LP. ‘Don’t be Stupid Day’, centred around the namesake vocal, is a slow-burning, deep techno roller, while ‘Hymn (In The Name of Fantasy)’ contrasts a dreamy, wisp-like melody with heavy punches of broken up bass. Both cleverly represent the wide variety of sounds found on the more ambient and house-leaning Disc 2 of the album.

Disc 1 is a contemporary take on the techno that has defined Faki’s life and career since the 90s. ‘Hymn (In The Name Of Freedom)’ borrows on the trancey lead synths and booming bass from those early days, making for an unusually euphoric and uplifting Faki track. Finally, ‘Tempel’ aligns with his reputation as a DJ, steadily layering mechanic percussion for an ever-increasing sense of rhythmic urgency.

A bold introductory statement, Fusion 01/03 offers an exciting taster of what is to be expected on the full double LP coming later this year. And with two more special EPs to be released ahead of the album drop, fans of cutting-edge techno have plenty to look forward to in 2023.

Watch the ‘Don’t Be Stupid Day’ video HERE.

# # #

Fusion 01/03 - EP tracklist

1. Don’t Be Stupid Day

2. Tempel

3. Hymn (In The Name of Fantasy)

4. Hymn (In The Name Of Freedom)


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Soundcloud
  • Spotify
  • Youtube
  • TikTok
bottom of page